Australian Open Tennis Betting Offers 2015

January 12, 2017

The 2015 Australian Open tournament

The 2015 Australian Open tennis tournament ran from Monday 19th January to Sunday 1st February 2015 at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Australia. The first grand slam of 2015 was also the 103rd staging of the Australian Open tournament. The Men’s winner was Serbian Novak Djokovic, who recorded his 5th Australian Open title, by defeating Scot Andy Murray in the final. The Women’s event was taken out by none other than Serena Williams, who also made history by claiming her 6th title at Melbourne Park, an Open Era record.

As is often the case in Australia, betting agencies enjoyed huge turnover figures on the event. This was due in part to the large number of offers on promotions that they ran on the event, all of which were previously published on this page, whilst they were current. Those looking for up to date promotions on the 2017 event can visit our Australian Open betting offers page.

2015 Australian Open Men’s final

Serbian number 1 Novak Djokovic claimed a record 5th Australian Open title by defeating Andy Murray in the final 7–6(7–5), 6–7(4–7), 6–3, 6–0. It was the 3rd time the pair had met in an Australian Open final, and the third time the Serb had come away with victory. The result was particularly galling for Murray; after two very tight sets, the Scot appeared to be getting on top in the match early in the 3rd set, as Djokovic became more and more restricted in his movement. Djokovic’s woes seem to unnerve Murray, and he appeared to lose concentration on the task at hand, eventually becoming very frustrated at his inability to put away the ailing Djokovic. After a brief injury time out, Djokvic returned to the court, in full health, to run away with the final.

The rise of a young Aussie

The 2015 Australian Open was a memorable one for teen sensation Nick Kyrgios. The Aussie made it all the way to the quarter finals at Melbourne Park, a result belying his world ranking but certainly not his tennis talent.

Women’s final

The Australian Open Women’s final was played between Serena Williams and Maria Sharapova. Williams prevailed, 6–3, 7–6(7–5), to record her 16th straight win over her Russian opponent. The win gave Williams a 19th Grand Slam title.