Big Bash League History

December 16, 2019

Big Bash League history and Past Winners

The T20 phenomenon rolls on in Australia. Cricket Australia’s Big Bash League is now entering its 9th season. What is known throughout the country as the ‘BBL’, the tournament originated back in 2011. It continues to grow in popularity as do the number of fixtures, BBL09 will feature 56 matches plus five finals.

infographic showing past winners of the Big Bash League T20 tournament

Past Big Bash winners

Season Champion Runner up Result
2011-12 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers Sixers won by 7 wickets
2012-13 Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers Heat won by 34 runs
2013-14 Perth Scorchers Hobart Hurricanes Scorchers won by 39 runs
2014-15 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Scorchers won by 4 wickets
2015-16 Sydney Thunder Melbourne Stars Thunder won by 3 wickets
2016-17 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Scorchers won by 9 wickets
2017-18 Adelaide Strikers Hobart Hurricanes Strikers won by 25 runs
2018-19 Melbourne Renegades Melbourne Stars Renegades won by 13 runs

The Perth Scorchers have dominated the first eight seasons of the BBL winning three times. Only two teams have not won the Big Bash T20 tournament: the Hobart Hurricanes and the Melbourne Stars. The Brisbane Heat, Melbourne Renegades, Adelaide Strikers, Sydney Sixers and the Sydney Thunder have each won the tournament once.

Player records and noteworthy performances

Few cricket fans will forget a young David Warner announcing himself on the national stage by scoring the first-ever BBL century in just the second match. Warner scored an unbeaten 102 that day in front of a packed MCG crowd. In all, 20 centuries have been made in BBL history, with Craig Simmons being the only player to have scored two hundreds. The highest score ever made is 122 by D’Arcy Short.

BBL records

Discipline Player Record
Highest score: D’ Arcy Short 122*
Highest team score: Hobart Hurricanes 8/223
Sixes in an innings: Gayle, Lynn & Simmons 11
Most BBL hundreds: Craig Simmons 2
Best bowling figures: Lasith Malinga 6/7
Best innings strike rate: Dan Christian 377.77 (34 from 9 balls)
Best innings economy rate: Mitchell Johnson 0.75 (0 for 3 from 4 overs)

Most sixes in BBL history

Chris Lynn stands alone when it comes to hitting the most sixes throughout BBL history. Lynn has hit an incredible 123 sixes in his 63 matches to date. By way of comparison, Aaron Finch is second on the list with 67 sixes. In terms of strike rate of sixes per game, Chris Gayle is on top having amassed 51 sides from his 22 appearances. Lynn is next followed closely by D’Arcy Short (57 from 34 matches).

Most Big Bash betting offers centre around the number of sixes hit by a team during an innings. Typically, if your team hits eight sixes, a promotion will be triggered with your bookmaker.