Big Bash League preview

December 17, 2017

2017/18 Big Bash Preview – How you can interact

The seventh season of Australia’s all-conquering Big Bash League (BBL) tournament kicks off on 19th December 2017. The domestic T20 competition has captured the imagination of both Australian and global sport fans. Key to the success of the BBL, is its level of accessibility and interaction with a wide-ranging audience. We take a look at this year’s tournament and tell you how you can access the games and participate in the Big Bash phenomenon.

The teams

The BBL features 8 teams from all over Australia. Players don’t necessarily play for the same state in which they play Sheffield Shield cricket. Instead, they are recruited to a franchise for the duration of the tournament.

logos of teams participating in the 2017/18 BBL tournament

  • Sydney Thunder
  • Adelaide Strikers
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Sydney 6ers
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Hobart Hurricanes
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Melbourne Stars

International and past players

One of the major appeals of the Big Bash competition is that it features current star international players and retired cricketers. Whilst perennial favourite Chris Gayle won’t be appearing this season, nor past Australian great Mike Hussey, the tournament will feature the following international and past champions: Brendan, McCullum, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson and Mitchell Johnson.

Fixture and matches

In all, 35 matches will be played during the tournament’s duration, which is 40 days. In addition, the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) will also feature a number of games, many creating a double-header fixture with BBL matches. Both the BBL and WBBL competitions are run by Cricket Australia, the ruling body for cricket. Their website contains a fixture of all BBL matches for the 2017/18 season.

TV coverage

Cricket fans won’t miss a ball of the action, as all Big Bash League matches will be televised live, by host broadcaster Channel 10. In all, 47 matches, including 12 WBBL matches, will be beamed live across the country to slot in with prime time viewing, starting at either 7:00pm or 7:30 each night.

Fan participation and engagement

The BBL owes much of its success to its ability to engage and interact with a large audience. There are several ways that fans can access and participate in the action, these include: attending a match live, viewing live on TV, placing a bet on a BBL fixture, and participating in the Big Bash fantasy game.

Betting on the BBL

The Big Bash League appeals to recreational punters from all over the world, who are attracted to the fast-paced form of entertainment. Betting companies also participate, with many offering promotions and bonuses on each BBL match.

Big Bash fantasy game

Fans of fantasy sport games will rejoice in the fact that up to $21,000 worth of prizes are available for the top scoring teams. Each team must comprise of 16 players, of which 11 will be selected in the starting line up. Points are tallied based on the number of runs, wickets, catches and run outs each player amasses. The image below highlights the entry procedure for the BBL fantasy game.

entry procedure for the BBL fantasy game